

"The 1961 Championship Crew at Crescent Y. C."

Detroit News Photo

REPORT ON THE PENGUIN INTERNATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP REGATTA OF 1961

Sailed at Crescent Sail Yacht Club, Grosse Pointe Farms 36, Michigan AUGUST 14, 15, 16, 17, 1961

The first race was scheduled to start at 1400 on August 15th, but at 1300 the wind was gusting at over 30 knots, so we decided upon a postponement. We did not want to start the series with a lot of capsizes and broken rigging.

In the interest of temporal economy, we held our ANNUAL MEETING at this time instead of in the evening as originally planned.

At 1600 the wind had abated a bit and the Race Committee decided it was safe to sail. A "Harbor Gun" was fired at 1630, the warning gun at

1645, preparatory gun at 1650, and the starting gun at 1655.

Because of the direction of the wind (WSW), the course set was four legs of a triangle, marks to port, with the finish line at the end of the second beat. The starting line was set out in the lake about 1 1/3 nautical miles from shore, in order to place the weather mark about 1/3 mile from shore and near the Club. The wind during the race was 15-22 knots, and the time for the leaders about one hour.

The second and third races, Wednesday A.M. and P.M. were started on schedule. In the morning the wind was from the North, about 8-10 knots. The course was Reverse Gold Cup, marks to port. The starting line was

again set about a mile out from shore to keep the second mark out far enough to avoid any land effects. It took the fleet from $1\frac{1}{2}$ to 2 hours to sail the 5 nautical mile course.

In the afternoon the wind, from the same direction, increased a bit to 10-12 knots. Essentially the same course was sailed, although the marks were picked up after the morning race and were reset for the afternoon race.

On Thursday morning the wind was out of the east and lighter, only about 4-6 knots, so the course selected was once around a triangle of 1 nautical mile legs, marks to port. The starting line was set about 1/3 mile from shore, directly in front of the Club. The water was more disturbed than one would expect for this light air. The time for the race was about 1½ hours.

The last race was a duplicate of the morning race, but was started about an hour earlier than originally scheduled to give the contestants more time

to load up for the trip home.

In this series we tried an innovation which seemed to meet the approval of the contestants. As mentioned at the first skippers' briefing, the R.C. boat went onto station with the red shape flying. This was lowered 30 seconds before the white shape went up and the warning gun was fired to give the contestants advance notice of the 10-minute gun, so they could better start their watches.

During the whole series there were no capsizes. Two spars were broken, one before the first race and one during a race, but both were attributable to accidental slipping of shroud runners and not to heavy weather. Both boats got back into competition and finished the series sailing.

WINNERS

1st, and the Championship Bowl: Otto Scherer Jr. in 5515 with 148.5 points. He also took two "Daily" Firsts and one Third.

2nd: Jerry Jenkins in 4958 with 134.9 points.

He also took two "Daily" Firsts and two Seconds.

3rd: Gardner Cox in 5980 with 134.8 points.

He also took one "Daily" First and one Third.

4th: Dennis Conner in 5440 with 134.6 points. He also took two "Daily" Seconds.

The LONG DISTANCE TROPHY also went to Dennis Conner.

5th: Frank Flaherty in 5300 with 127 points.

The FLO DRILL MEMORIAL TROPHY for the highest placing woman crew went to Carol Kibiger, who crewed for Otto Scherer Jr. in the winning boat.

There were two woman skippers and the BERT AND FAITH ISRAEL

TROPHY was won by Sparky Graham in 6121.

Six junior skippers contended: Carlos Belchior of Rio de Janeiro won

the LAMPORT TROPHY for the highest scoring junior.

Three fleets were represented for the first time: Rio de Janeiro, Paw Paw Lake, and Grosse Ile. Carlos Belchior of Rio took the PRESIDENT'S FIRST CHALLENGE TROPHY.

Six contestants traveled 1000 miles or more to compete: Dennis Conner and Les. Marshal from San Diego, Sparky Graham and Cyril Laan from New Orleans, Gene Peresich from Biloxi, and Carlos Belchior from Rio. Dennis Conner was high point among these and took the LONG DISTANCE TROPHY.

Please note that of the 31 contestants, six (6) were JUNIORS.

13 Women Crewed.